Nostalgia Buys

Recently I bought a cassette tape from a music artist I wanted to support. I’ve never owned one before as they were already phased out for CDs by the time I was born. So now I’m here with a cassette tape and no Sony Walkman.

But this purchase got me thinking about what I like to spend my non-existent disposable income on. One thing I’ve noticed is that I really like old things. In particular, smaller objects that are easy to store or display in mass. Keep in mind the cassette tape I bought is new, but it’s the kind of object that’s old.

During 4th of July me and several family members took a day trip to Gruene, Texas, a little town just north of New Braunfels where the biggest attractions (arguably) are the dance hall, general store, and the Gristmill restaurant. While in one of the antique shops I stumbled across old spice containers for around $4. They were tin, square, and were labeled in such a way they would never pass through today’s marketing teams. But I really liked them. For some odd reason I really wanted to spend the $30 it was going to take to buy all them. Those kinds of items are dangerous.

Simply by being aged they have a unique character and look. It’s one of the biggest draws of antique/old items. I’m starting to wonder what my future home is going to look like when it’s full of knock-knacks from the 50’s.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

OTAKU LOUNGE

Come chill on the couch.

BICYCLE DUTCH

All about cycling in the Netherlands

· MagnAvaloN ·

Engaging life, invoking possibilities.

The Jackie Blog

Life Is Funny

Draw The Line

Over 100 comic artists present positive political actions anyone can take.

The Josei Next Door

your friendly neighborhood anime blog

coolpeppermint

memories and musings

Moss Travel Media on WordPress

This is the WordPress Blog for Moss Travel Media an online travel film channel, which can be found at www.mosstravel.tv . This blog showcases the channel's videos, as well as related photographs, stories and reviews. This is usually in relation to travel, transport, accommodation, destinations, concerts, pubs, beers and other attractions.

